KidzGo Playhouse @ Tampines 1

[Update:  KidzGo Playhouse has closed down and is no longer in operation.]

Recently, my friend told me there is a new indoor playground at Tampines 1 shopping centre (conveniently located just next to Tampines MRT station).  I just love it when playgrounds open near MRT stations, making it possible to visit rain or shine! Excitedly, I began a looooong journey from Yishun to Tampines to check it out.

The playground is called KidzGo Playhouse and it is located on Level 4.  The entrance looks pretty neat, like a castle and the colourful lights on the floor attracts kids to go in.

20120814-130316.jpg

The playground itself, however, is disappointingly small.  Considering the tough competition they face being in an area that is already saturated by indoor playgrounds (there is eXplorer Kids at Downtown East, Petite Park at Expo, Polliwogs at East Coast Park), I was hoping for something that could rise up to the competition.  Sadly, it was even smaller than the very petite Petite Park.

20120814-130338.jpg

Just like Petite Park, it has a section for pretend play and a section for active play. The pretend play area is kinda sad.. I shall let the pictures do the talking.

20120814-130356.jpg

20120814-130406.jpg

20120814-130414.jpg

What’s up with all the empty tables?? I’ve always wondered why playground operators invest a bomb to set up a playground, but don’t spend a little more money to buy more toys for kids to play with when they are tired of running and climbing.  And in case you’re wondering why there is a train track with only one sad little train, that’s because the other trains were littered somewhere around the playground.  The staff were too busy chatting at the counter to keep the few toys they have in order.. Sheesh.

Moving on to the active play area, I think Jumperzillas just found its match for the smallest play structure of this sort.  It has 2 storeys:  The first storey just has a ball-shooting machine (which wasn’t working when I was there.. Hey, isn’t this place new?), a step-on piano and a walker out of nowhere.  The second storey basically just goes one round with a tunnel, a bridge and some small obstacles.

20120814-130521.jpg   20120814-130456.jpg20120814-130515.jpg

20120814-130504.jpg  20120814-130557.jpg

20120814-130547.jpg

There are two slides coming down from the second storey: A curvey one (which is MF’s favourite) and a straight one that goes into the ball pit.

20120814-130605.jpg

20120814-130428.jpg

In case you are finding the water trampoline thingy in the above photo familar, yes, we have seen this at numerous playgrounds like SingKids, Kiddy Fun and Petite Park.  KidzGo Playhouse is *AGAIN* one of those playgrounds with the SingKids-lookalike elements.  Just see the carousel and balloon vortex below and you’ll understand:

20120814-130435.jpg

20120814-130445.jpg

Can we have some originality already?? *yawnz*  But of course, to MF, playground is playground, he doesn’t care for originality.  As small and pathetic as I find this playground, MF managed to play for a pretty long time! And the best part about it is, because the playground is so small, 19-month old MF could play on his own and I didn’t need to go climbing around with him.  Ahhh… Now THAT is money well spent.

So for hours, MF just went round and round the same route:

20120814-130616.jpg
Giving mummy (who is lazing at the side) a wave before heading off on his own!

20120814-130622.jpg
Up up  up he goes…

20120814-130630.jpg
Across the obstacles..

20120814-130635.jpg
Cheating by walking through the gap at the side instead of over the obstacles

20120814-130641.jpg
Down his favourite slide!

And he does it over and over and over…. Ahhh, kids.  They are so easy to satisfy.

I missed their opening promotion and paid $16 for unlimited play on a weekday.  On weekends, it cost $22 for 2 hours.  Alternatively, you can pay $12 for 1 hour of play (applicable on any day).  If you ask me, I don’t think it is worth it and I doubt I will travel all the way from Yishun to play here.

There is no diaper-changing or nursing facility here, and the nearest nursing room in Tampines 1 is a bit of a walk away on Level 5.

For more information regarding KidzGo Playhouse’s opening hours, location and contact details, please visit their facebook page.

6 thoughts on “KidzGo Playhouse @ Tampines 1

  1. So glad to stumble across ur blog! Ive been living here in sgp since 2012 july and the lack of activities and things to do to kill time with my toddler has been driving me nuts… wish I found u earlier!! :D

    im from australia and lived in japan before moving here so I was a bit surprised to find out how unchildfriendly it is here. Maybe its cuz we live near bedok reservoir so we’re so far from the city and decent entertainment…

    Anyways thanks for sharing ur survival tips for sahm!! :)

  2. So glad to stumble across ur blog! Ive been living here in sgp since 2012 july and the lack of activities and things to do to kill time with my toddler has been driving me nuts… wish I found ur blog earlier!!!

    im from australia and lived in japan before moving here so I was a bit surprised to find out how unchildfriendly it is here compared to tokyo… or maybe its cuz we live near bedok reservoir so we’re so far from the city and decent entertainment…

    Anyways thanks a lot for sharing ur survival tips for sahm in sgp!! :) i really appreciate it!

  3. Oh and I just realised you have an infant too!! Super mummy indeed! And id like to ask how u manage ur kids and home AND still have time to blog and be able to keep your humour and relationship well with hubby?!!

    I only have one 2 yr old son but my energy level is almost always between 0-10% and never managed to keep any of my blogs going…

    R.E.S.P.E.C.T to u supermum!

    • Umm.. Did I ever say I managed? Lol. Truth is, I don’t manage my home.. It’s in a perpetual mess. My hubby manages the mess. I think the main reason I’m still sane is because I have a very supportive hubby. And I have great friends too! It’s always good to make friends with other mothers, go out for playdates and we can support each other when times get rough. And don’t forget to stay positive, stay cheerful, and take everything with a pinch of salt!

      As for blogging, half the time I blog using my phone when I’m on the go (like in the car or on the MRT or even in the toilet) – Gotta make full use of time. Also explains the lousy quality of photos of my blog because I just snap them with my phone and upload in a hurry. Or I blog after the kids go to bed (if I haven’t fallen asleep with them).

  4. Any idea what happened to this PlayHouse. They just disappeared one day. We have purchased Membership and paid for 18 days upfront. But just after 2 days, they disappeared with refunding the balance.

Leave a Reply

